Texturing: Wood Textures and Texture Rubbings

For our texturing subject, the first four weeks are dedicated to painting techniques in photoshop. The first week we were asked to paint a wooden texture, the particular texture I painted was Australian Red Cedar. Here are my process jpegs below. We only had 20mins to do this.

Starting off with a solid background colour, making sure it is a mid colour of what you are painting. Above this layer, add in some lighter marks using a broad brush to start putting in some colour variances and texture.

LG_australianRedCedar_002_step1

I decided here my mid tone base colour might have been to light for the type of wood I was painting. So I duplicated the background layer and set it to multiply, dropping the opacity a bit so it’s not straight black.

LG_australianRedCedar_002_step2

Now I start to build up some of the lighter tone textures to bring in some depth. The next few images have very subtle changes to them.
Using a brush with opacity set to pen pressure and changing the percentage as I go if I feel I need brighter or more subtle changes in colour also flow is set to 50% meaning the amount of colour that comes out of the brush is limited and this helps to blend colours more naturally.

LG_australianRedCedar_002_step3

LG_australianRedCedar_002_step4

LG_australianRedCedar_002_step5

Here you can start to see I am building up the flow of the grain in the wood in a reddy brown.

LG_australianRedCedar_002_step6

Adding in my highlights, I bump up the saturation of the colour. This is because I want to show there is some depth in the wood, it isn’t just a flat colour and is also shiny when it’s polished, so I am trying to create the illusion of this.

LG_australianRedCedar_002_step7

Last of all I added in some shadows to the wood grains using a smaller brush. The colour I used was still within the tone of the highlight and mid colour but the value was dropped till it became quiet dark, this was as far as I got with this before we ran out of time.

LG_australianRedCedar_002

For homework we were asked to collect texture rubbings of surfaces and objects around the house.

Here is what mine turned out like.

texturedone002

Leave a Reply

