Animation: Drawing Plans For Animation

So after researching all those cat gifs, I decided that I wanted to do an animation based on a critter who was curious of an object which all of a sudden gets freaked out by the object making a sudden change.

Keeping in mind some animation principal notes which are:

  • Squash & Stretch
  • Anticipation
  • Staging
  • Straight ahead and pose to pose
  • Follow through and overlapping animation
  • Slow in and slow out
  • Arcs
  • Secondary action
  • Timing
  • Exaggeration
  • Solid drawing
  • Appeal

I wanted to make sure I covered as many of these as I could with it still feeling believable.

This is what I came up with for understanding when I want a beat to happen in my animation as well as some finer detail concepts to help show the arcs of movement and timing.

prePlanning_animation002 prePlanning_animation003 prePlanning_animation004

Leave a Reply

