Box Model Reflection

This is my first attempt of a humanoid box model in Maya 2014.  I have tried several different approaches, still not resulting in a pre vis model I am happy with.

The first two attempts I tried the extruding method. I feel as though I am putting in too much typology, too early on, which is distorting the placement of limbs. My second attempt I felt a little bit more confident however was still making similar mistakes to the first attempt.

step2 step3step7step9

Reflection: For my third attempt I will try attaching other primitives, such as a cylinder for the legs, to avoid the paddle pop stick legs. Also with this attempt I will try some of the earlier methods but with minimal typology.

step_1_attempt_3

For my third attempt I decided to stay with extruding the form. This time I made the initial rectangle skinnier to get the arms and the neck to line up with the reference better. I felt a lot happier with my progress this time, however I was still adding way too much detail too early and not getting the general flow of the model correct first. Also modelling a woman’s chest is a challenge, I didn’t particularly get it right first go.

This is where I got to on my third attempt. The legs don’t look like paddle pops this time, however I still didn’t build the bottom half of the torso properly to allow for the legs to extrude properly. It was closer however.

3rdattempt

My fourth attempt, with the help of Eric, mainly to get the edge flow in the chest area correct looks more like this.

4thattempt
I just need to practice more. Hands and feet still need to be attached.

For my second character I am just going to manipulate this model, due to time constraints.

On reflection, this assessment has shown me what level I am currently at and what I need to change to move forward. Once I overcome these obstacles it will give me more freedom to model organic models. So much more to learn still.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

